Shampoo Update

Earlier this morning I created my first batch of shampoo. The recipe included; 1/4 of castle soap, 1/4 of coconut milk and 1/2 tsp of avocado oil. I adopted the recipe from the “Wellness Mama”, the recipe called for 20 drops of an essential oil of your choice, the castle soap I purchased was peppermint scented so I omitted the essential oils. The peppermint left a nice fresh feeling on my scalp.

The shampoo was lovely and my hair felt very clean. I decided to try and make my own shampoo because spending $15 on a 500ml bottle was getting a little bit expensive. Creating my own beauty products allows me to control what goes down the drain.

I found a recipe for conditioner from “don’t waste the crumbs”, the conditioner was simple and very cheap to make, 2 cups of water with 2 tbsps of apple cider vinegar. This conditioner was very different from the stereotypical conditioner, I used it as a rinse after washing my hair. My hair felt great after the shower and did NOT smell like vinegar.

To style my hair I used a small amount of coconut oil on the ends of my hair and scrunched my way up.

Overall conclusion: The shampoo left my hair feeling very clean and not too dry, the conditioner added a nice shine to my hair and the coconut oil added extra moisture I need for my curly hair.

Leave a Reply

